Milly Bartolome was a Undergraduate Scholar in 2015 when she interned for Department of Justice, Criminal Division, Human Rights and Special Prosecutions Section.

Where are you from?
Born in La Pampa, Argentina but grew up in Dahlonega, Georgia.

Where did you go to school? What did you study?
I received my undergrad degree in Political Science from the University of Georgia.

What was the best part of your internship?
My internship at the DOJ gave me insight into what kind of work a DOJ attorney could be involved in, and I learned a great deal about the office through research projects assigned to me. I enjoyed helping with the early stages of case development by doing fact research, and I felt like I left the internship reassured in my decision to attend law school in the future.

What lessons did you learn that you would like to pass on to future interns?
Take every opportunity you can to attend meetings, lectures, brown bag sessions, and lunches. I learned that sitting in on meetings is a great way to learn on the job and really understand the context behind projects you are assigned. The DOJ internship program offers interns many opportunities to attend sessions at other DOJ offices, and I did my best to take advantage of those opportunities to learn about other sections. So if your internship offers you similar opportunities, take them.

What are you doing now?
I now work as a paralegal at Williams & Connolly LLP in DC. I very much enjoy my job and I learn something new every day. I will apply to law school this fall in the hopes of enrolling in fall 2018.

What do you hope to be doing in 10 years?
Whatever it is I’m doing in 10 years, I hope it’s helping make a difference and if I’m changing anything I hope it’s for the better.

What is your favorite book and what are you reading now?
I’m currently reading The Trial by Kafka. I haven’t gotten very far but I’m already enjoying it, so I do recommend it! Another book I highly recommend is I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai – great read!

Tell us a fun fact!
Spanish is my native language and I had the opportunity to practice it while backpacking through Argentina and Europe last summer. I spent a month in Argentina, went whale watching in the Patagonia, hiked a trail in the Swiss alps, and visited France, Switzerland, Italy, Turkey, and Greece.

Leave a Reply